Radiohead: Kid A

Kid A is the fourth studio album by English alternative rock band
Radiohead, released in October 2000 by the Parlophone label. A
commercial success worldwide, Kid A went platinum in its first week of
release in the UK. Despite the lack of an official single or music
video as publicity, Kid A became the first Radiohead release to debut
at number one in the US.This success was credited variously to a
unique marketing campaign, the early Internet leak of the album, or
anticipation after the band’s 1997 album, OK Computer.
Kid A was recorded in Paris, Copenhagen, Gloucestershire and Oxford
with producer Nigel Godrich.

The album’s songwriting and recording were experimental for Radiohead,
as the band replaced their earlier “anthemic” rock style with a more
electronic sound. Influenced by Krautrock, jazz, and 20th century
classical music, Radiohead abandoned their three-guitar line-up for a
wider range of instruments on Kid A, using keyboards, the Ondes
martenot, and, on certain compositions, strings and brass. Kid A also
contains more minimal and abstract lyrics than the band’s previous
work. Singer Thom Yorke has said the album was not intended as “art”,
but reflects the music they listened to at the time. Original artwork
by Stanley Donwood and Yorke, and a series of short animated films
called “blips”, accompanied the album.

Kid A has been considered one of the most challenging pop records to
have commercial success. The album won a Grammy for Best Alternative
Album and was nominated for Album of the Year. It also received praise
for introducing listeners to diverse forms of underground music.
Despite the band’s new direction alienating some fans and critics, Kid
A received generally positive reviews from notable music publications.
It was subsequently listed by multiple publications as one of the best
albums of recent years, and in 2009 was ranked No. 1 in lists of the
best albums of the 2000s by Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, and The Times.

Join The Conversation

11 Comments / User Reviews

Leave Your Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Hi! I’m normally to weblog and i genuinely value your articles. The article has really peaks my fascination. I’m planning to bookmark your internet site and continue to keep checking for brand new facts.|After research a couple of of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I truly like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site list and shall be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my site as nicely and let me know what you think.|i just wanted to make a quick comment to say i’m glad i found your blog. thanks.|thanks for posting this information.|A person essentially help to make seriously articles I would state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular publish extraordinary. Fantastic job!|of course like your web-site but you need to check the spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very troublesome to tell the truth nevertheless I’ll surely come back again.

  2. RADIOHEAD is truly one of the greatest bands on this planet … ever. 

  3. Radiahead is my favorite band

  4. Radiahead is my favorite band

  5. Radiahead is my favorite band